Passport Potash Inc. (TSXV:PPI) announced a decrease the size of the board to five members. Pursuant to that announcement the company accepted resignations from Dennis Ickes, Jerry Aiken, Laara Shaffer and Bill Allred. Mr. Ickes, Mr. Aiken and Ms. Shaffer will join the company’s advisory board.

As quoted in the press release:

“We would like to thank Dennis, Jerry, Laara and Bill for their service as directors of Passport,” said Passport president and chief executive officer, Joshua Bleak. “Their unique skills and experience have been a real benefit to the company. We are delighted that they are all interested in continuing their relationship with Passport. Based upon the challenges inherent in today’s resource market, the board felt that a smaller board would best serve the needs of the company and its shareholders.”

The company is also pleased to announce the addition of Frank Hogel as an independent director to the company’s board of directors, effective immediately. Mr. Hogel will serve as vice-chairman of the board, and on the audit and compensation committees. He brings a wealth of financial expertise to the board from his 15 years of experience in the financial sector.

The company also announces that Ms. Shaffer has resigned as chief financial officer and corporate secretary. Taking Ms. Shaffer’s place as CFO will be former director Mr. Allred.

Following these changes the officers of the company will be:

Joshua Bleak, president and CEO;
Michael Schlumpberger, chief operating officer;
Bill Allred, CFO;
John Eckersley, executive vice-president.
The directors for Passport are: David Salisbury, Frank Hogel, Joshua Bleak, John Eckersley and Ali Rahimtula.

Click here to read the Passport Potash Inc. (TSXV:PPI) press release
Click here to see the Passport Potash Inc. (TSXV:PPI) profile.